About Services Clients Blog Contact
☰ menu

A Journey through Books

Reading is a portal to unlimited worlds. Where do books take you?

Though I often start out with an idea of where I want to go or what it is I'd like to explore, it is more often the case that the book or its author transports me to a place I'd never expected.

It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end. —Ursula K. Le Guin, The Left Hand of Darkness

Cup of Gold

A Life of Sir Henry Morgan, Buccaneer, with Occasional Reference to History

The first read of the John Steinbeck canon begins with the tale of the swashbuckling pirate, Henry Morgan. This quite Romantic tale is about beginnings, and the planning involved in making great stories that reflect the living of great lives.

cup of gold

On My Nightstand

My current journey is an exploration into 20th century writer John Steinbeck's entire canon, in chronological order. Spurred by a recent visit to the Salinas Valley and Monterey Bay in the Central Valley of California, I soaked in the environment that birthed and bred the Nobel laureate John Steinbeck. The books published by one of the most acclaimed authors of the 20th century Great American novel, would encompass almost 40 years from 1929 to 1966, with additional works posthumously published through 1989.

Previous Reads

Recents reads follow, most recent first